Ray Lewis not named to 2014 College Football Hall of Fame class

Retired Ravens star inside linebacker Ray Lewis wasn't named to the 2014 College Hall of Fame class.

A former University of Miami consensus All-American and a runner-up for the Dick Butkus award -- given to the nation's top linebacker -- Lewis had been nominated for induction this year.

Lewis was a two-time All-Big East Conference selection and ranks sixth all-time in school history with 388 career tackles. Retired since after the Ravens' Super Bowl XLVII victory over the San Francisco 49ers, Lewis was a two-time NFL Defensive Player of the Year, a 13-time Pro Bowl selection and the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XXV when the Ravens defeated the New York Giants.

The Hall of Fame class includes former North Carolina cornerback Dre Bly, former USC offensive tackle Tony Boselli, former Purdue defensive tackle Dave Butz, former Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan, former Georgia Tech quarterback Joe Hamilton, former Maine linebacker John Huard, former Stanford halfback Darrin Nelson, former Louisiana Tech offensive tackle Willie Roaf, former UCLA quarterback John Sciarra, former South Carolina wide receiver Sterling Sharpe, former McNeese State cornerback Leonard Smith, the late Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas, former Texas Christian running back LaDainian Tomlinson, former Ole Miss tight end Wesley Walls, former Oregon coach Mike Bellotti and former Appalachian State coach Jerry Moore.

Bookmark and Share
blog comments powered by Disqus